CMMC Compliance Checklist

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) compliance is mandatory for organizations in the defense industrial base (DIB) to protect federal contract information (FCI) and controlled unclassified information (CUI). The CMMC requirements aim to achieve the following objectives:
  • Foster a collaborative culture of cybersecurity and cyber resilience.
  • Continuously improve DIB cybersecurity to meet evolving threats.
  • Ensure accountability and minimize obstacles to compliance with U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) requirements.
  • Uphold high professional and ethical standards to maintain public trust.
  • Secure sensitive information to facilitate and safeguard sensitive data.
The purpose of the CMMC Compliance Checklist is to provide organizations with a comprehensive guide to achieving compliance with the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) requirements.
The checklist covers all five levels of the CMMC framework and includes the necessary steps for each level.
By following this checklist, organizations can ensure they have implemented the necessary security controls to protect their information systems and data.
  1. 1

    Determine your CMMC level

    The first step in achieving CMMC compliance is to determine the necessary level of certification for your organization based on the type of contracts you hold with the US Department of Defense (DoD).
    Form Fields
  2. 2

    Conduct a Gap Analysis

    Conduct a gap analysis to identify areas where your organization's cybersecurity posture falls short of the requirements of the chosen CMMC level.
    Form Fields
  3. 3

    Develop a System Security Plan (SSP)

    Develop a system security plan (SSP) outlining the security controls to protect your organization's information systems and data.
    Form Fields
  4. 4

    Implement Security Controls

    Implement the required security controls identified in the SSP. Depending on the CMMC level, security controls can include access control, incident response, asset management, and more.
    Form Fields
  5. 5

    Document Policies and Procedures

    Document policies and procedures for each implemented security control.
    Form Fields
  6. 6

    Train Employees

    Train all employees on the policies and procedures to ensure they understand their roles and responsibilities in maintaining the organization's information systems and data security.
    Form Fields
  7. 7

    Conduct Internal Audits

    Conduct regular internal audits to ensure that the implemented security controls are effective and followed by all employees.
    Form Fields
  8. 8

    Obtain Third-Party Assessment

    Obtain a third-party assessment of your organization's cybersecurity posture to ensure compliance with the chosen CMMC level.
    Form Fields
  9. 9